Veritas Wins Football Championship

October 21, 2008

Veritas Christian Academy’s Rams defeated a determined Logos team 20-12 recently to win the 2008 football league championship.

Logos lit up the scoreboard in a hurry, connecting on a pass play that covered half the length of the field on the third play. The Rams answered with a touchdown of their own when QB Ryan Berger found Johnny Vanegas on a short pass and Vanegas made it all the way to the end zone to tie the score at six.

After Logos mounted a long drive to regain the lead, Veritas fought back to tie the score on its next drive as Berger connected with Gabriel Weber and Vanegas several times. He found little brother Kirk Berger on a crossing pattern to the left side for a touchdown. Neither team had been able to convert the extra point opportunities but this time Berger dropped a pass in between defenders and Vanegas made a one-handed grab to give Veritas its first lead of the game, 13-12.

When Rams cornerback Weber intercepted and ran the length of the field, juking several defenders, the Rams took a 19-12 lead. Berger once again connected with Vanegas for the extra point.

Coaches Ted Raad and Joseph Alkhoury are to be commended for taking this young squad all the way to a league championship, said school representatives. With only three eighth-graders and three seventh-graders, this team relied on underclassmen.

“The founders of the school decided it fit the Veritas vision to begin our sports program with the fifth grade because of the huge advantage it would provide for development of the individuals. It has proved to be a tremendous success for the students, their parents and the school,” said Head of School Lamia Raad.

The team includes: 5th – Alex Davis, Jared Heuer, Josh Jonesia, Jesse Lopez, Harris Rosenblad, Tristan Shahin, Robert Trevino, Michael Weber; 6th – Jake Bedevian, Kirk Berger, JD Bobo, Thomas Hughes, Christian Lopez, Robert Merrick, Charlie Padgett, Gavin Russell; 7th – Hal Louis, Johnny Vanegas, Gabriel Weber; 8th – Ryan Berger, Aaron Cochran and Jonathan Lahoud.

InstantNewsWestu Staff

View more articles Subscribe