School Board Candidates Line Up

September 3, 2009

Bellaire resident Michael Lunceford and former district school superintendent Ray Reiner, of Meyerland, will compete in the race to succeed outgoing HISD trustee Dianne Johnson.

Lunceford is an architect and Reiner is executive director of the Texas Association of School Administrators.

Although Lunceford filed earlier and has campaign yard signs scattered throughout HISD’s central/southwest-area District 5 , Reiner filed Wednesday as a candidate in the November 3 general election.

Johnson, who was elected to the HISD Board in 2001 and 2005, served as president in 2005.

She was a teacher and counselor before serving on the school board.

District 7 incumbent Harvin Moore Jr. and District 6 incumbent Greg Meyers are unopposed

 There are three candidates in the campaign for District 1trustee. They are Anna M. Eastman, a community volunteer, Alma Lara, a former HISD school principal, and Linda C. Toyota, a development officer for the YMCA.

HISD District 9 board member Larry Marshall, a former HISD administrator who has served as board president, drew three challengers in his bid for reelection to the District 9 seat.

They are George L. Davis, a business administrator for the Houston Community College System, Michael Williams, of Stewart Cadillac, and Adrian Collins, an aide to State Sen. Rodney Ellis of Houston.

District 7 incumbent Harvin Moore Jr. and District 6 incumbent Greg Meyers are unopposed.

 The other four members on the board are not up for election this year.

InstantNewsWestu Staff

View more articles Subscribe