PCA to Honor Student-Athletes with Scholarships

September 6, 2012

Positive Coaching Alliance will recognize high school student-athletes committed to the ideals of sportsmanship at the 3rd annual PCA Scholarship and Awards Banquet on Sept. 29.

PCA will award $2,000 collegiate scholarships to 13 student-athletes on behalf of Deloitte, Comerica Bank, Friends and Family of Robert Snell, and many other proud PCA supporters.  PCA has named 26 student-athletes in the Houston area as finalists for the scholarships.

PCA will recognize three Houston high school coaches as Double-Goal Coach of the Year Award winners, including Steve Gleaves from St. John’s School, Stephen Dixon from Reagan High School and Melvonte Grice from KIPP Houston High School. PCA will also recognize Houston philanthropist and former Rice University basketball player Bobby Tudor as this year’s PCA Triple-Impact Professional.  The keynote speaker will be legendary Astro Larry Dierker and John Granato from Yahoo! Sports Radio 1560 will serve as emcee.

PCA will award college scholarships to 13 of these high school student-athletes who best exemplify PCA’s model of the Triple-Impact Competitor:

  • Personal Mastery — Making oneself better
  • Leadership — Making one’s teammates better
  • Honoring the Game — Making the game better.

PCA congratulates these finalists:

Jehan Baba, Memorial (Pasadena)

Kirbee Bowman, Memorial (Pasadena)

Katherine Drews, The Kinkaid School (Houston)

Shannon Gaden, St. Agnes Academy (Houston)

Katie Gregory, Stratford (Houston)

Sara Holland, Lamar (Houston)

Rahsaan King, The Chinquapin School (Baytown)

Jane Labanowski, St. John’s School (Houston)

Clair Lafferty, St. Agnes Academy (Houston)

Samantha Lang, Sam Rayburn (Houston)

Amanda Leavell, St. John’s School (Houston)

Jackie Manley, Duchesne (Houston)

Robert Martin, Strake Jesuit (Houston)

Anna Martinez, YES Prep Southwest (Houston)

Adolfo Mejia, YES Prep Southwest (Houston)

Maria Montero, KIPP Houston (Houston)

Jackie Parker, St. Agnes Academy (Houston)

Alondra Ponce, Reagan (Houston)

Jennifer Ramirez, YES Prep Southwest (Houston)

Jordan Raschke, Ball (Galveston)

Sean Ryan, Strake Jesuit (Houston)

Sam Sands, The Kinkaid School (Houston)

Macey Smith, Stratford (Houston)

Travis Smith, Dickinson (Dickinson)

Maritza Villamil, Ball (Galveston)

Charles Watts, Dawson (Pearland)

InstantNewsWestu Staff

View more articles Subscribe