Lamar, Bellaire Represented In National Merit Semifinalist List

September 17, 2009

Sixty-seven Houston Independent School District seniors have been named as semifinalists in the 2010 National Merit Scholarship Program, with more than half coming from Bellaire High School. Seven are from Lamar High School.

 Lamar High School has seven semifinalists.  They are: Paul A. Bunch, Ross R. Michie-Derrick, Tonhu Q. Nguyen, Austin A. Taghavi, Travis Taghavi, Sesenu Y. Woldemariam, and Christopher D. Woodward.

 The 37 Bellaire High School semifinalists are Celina Aldape, Jacob Aronowitz, Shayna Berkowitz, Joshua Chang, Karen Ding, George Fan, Shuo Feng, Liang Gu, Tiffany Huang, Kara Ing, Katherine Kabotyanski, Lumeng Li, Scott Lin, Sean Liu, Henry Lu, Louise Lu, David Mao, Ian Mauzy, Georgia McLendon, Jimmy Moon, Erik Nelson, Mengwei Ni, Robert O’Conor, Joseph Ong, Cassie Pan, Wilma Qiu, Joshua Rozner, Leonardo Setyanto, Rhiana Smith, Evan Srnka, Sharon Sun, Zhuyi Sun, Edgar Walters, Caroline Weisman, Dennis Wu, Ann Zhu and Zhida Zhu.

 “Our students continue to lead the way in academic achievement and college readiness. I commend their families and teachers for their commitment to education,” said Tim Salem, Bellaire High School principal.

 DeBakey High School has seven semifinalists.  Those students are: Kshitij A. Desai, Alexander S. Kortum, Anushka Krishnagiri, Chibuzo K. Onwuzuruike, Abdullah S. Shaikh, Fatima Syed, and Eric L. Yuan.

 Westside High School has six semifinalists. Those students are: Niloufar Hafizi, Yu-Di Lin, Garrett M. Reddin, Caroline A. Straub, William C. Watson, and Lisa M. White.

Three semifinalists are from the High School for the Performing and Visual Arts (HSPVA): Krucial Styslinger, Ellen C. Taylor, and Javier A. Vazquez-Trejo.

Two semifinalists, Larissa Little and Joshua S. Ueckert, are from Carnegie Vanguard High School.

 The students are among about 16,000 semifinalists announced nationwide in the 55th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for approximately 8,200 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $36 million, that will be offered next year.

Semifinalists are the highest scoring entrants in each state on the 2008 PSAT (Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test) and represent less than one percent of the nation’s seniors. Last year, HISD had 56 semifinalists.

 Three types of National Merit Scholarship awards will be offered. The first round will be announced in the spring of 2010. Every finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2500 scholarships; about 1,000 corporate-sponsored scholarships will be provided by approximately 270 corporations and business organizations; and about 200 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 4,700 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.  National Merit Scholarship winners of 2010 will be named in four announcements beginning in April and concluding in July.

InstantNewsWestu Staff

View more articles Subscribe