HISD Names Two Teachers Of The Year

May 14, 2010

Teachers Angel Wilson of Codwell Elementary and Brandon Kimble of Pershing Middle School have reason to celebrate.

The two are HISD’s 2010’s Teachers of the Year. Both were recognized this evening at the districts 35th annual Teacher Recognition Banquet at the George R. Brown Convention Center. In addition to the honor, the two each received a $5,000 cash prize, a $1000 gift certificate from I.W. Marks Jewelers, a gift basket from Palais Royal and a special ring designed by Herff Jones Graduation Center.

Elementary Teacher of the Year Angel Wilson joined HISD in 2008 as a teacher at Codwell Elementary. Before that she was an elementary school teacher in the Fort Bend Independent School District.  Education runs in the family for Wilson. Her mother taught for 23 years, and a grandmother, an uncle, a sister, and several of her aunts were teachers as well.

In addition to teaching at Codwell, she coaches the school’s Olympian Cheer Squad and provides free tutoring for those students who need some extra attention.

“Teaching, to me means being able to connect with the child before I am able to educate the student,” said Wilson. “It means serving as a beacon of light and a source of inspiration for students as well as parents, and being able to scaffold my pupils to their maximum learning potential”.

HISD’s 2010 Secondary Teacher of the Year, Brandon Kimble’s path to the classroom was not an easy one. He grew up in a single-parent family but with his mother’s support he graduated at the top of his class and won a full academic scholarship to Ohio State University. Upon graduation, Kimble landed in New Orleans as a teacher but Hurricane Katrina drove him to Houston, where he helped to create a charter school for evacuee students.

Kimble now teaches seventh-grade mathematics at Pershing Middle School and strives to produce at least two years of academic growth in each student through Saturday tutoring and fun strategies such as having students play math trivia games and design and build dream houses.

“Teaching is doing whatever it takes to get students excited about learning and eliciting those “ah ha” moments,” said Kimble. “Every child has their own gifts. Receiving this award means that I’m doing my part to discover these gifts. My passion for teaching ignites a flame too bright to be ignored, and being named one of HISD’s Teachers of the Year serves as my confirmation.”

Also recognized at the banquet was Adaora Nwankwo from Challenge Early College High School who won the Outstanding Young Educator Award. Sponsored by the Houston Jaycees and created more than 30 years ago, the Outstanding Young Educator Award recognizes an outstanding elementary or secondary-school teacher between the ages of 21 and 39. Winners are chosen for their unique teaching strategies and outstanding community involvement.

Reagan High School teacher Shelia Crawford-Burley was presented with the Elizabeth Brand Memorial Award, which was established by the Houston Association of Professional Landmen to honor a teacher. Recipients of this award are individuals who have demonstrated outstanding teaching performance and all-round personal development at the secondary-school level.

Travis Elementary School teacher Rebecca Amstutz was presented with the Emily Scott Evans Memorial Award. The award honors one third grade teacher who encourages students to get excited about learning and to cultivate respectful relationships with peers and adults.

InstantNewsWestu Staff

View more articles Subscribe