Bellaire, Lamar And HSPVA Students Named National Merit Scholarship Winners

May 6, 2009

This year’s second round of National Merit Scholarship winners was announced today and six Houston Independent School District seniors are on the list – four from Bellaire High School, one from Lamar High School and one from the High School for the Performing and Visual Arts.


Nationwide, 2,500 winners of $2,500 scholarships were announced today by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Scholarship winners are the finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.


Bellaire winners include Andrew M. Garbarino, who plans a career in law; Kevin L. Shen, who plans a career in medicine; Young Xu, who will likely study chemical engineering; and Jing Jin, who plans a career in law.


Eva G. Vinegar, planning to study physics, is HSPVA’s winner.  Keila E. Fong, Lamar’s winner, plans to study mechanical engineering.


On April 22, about 1,000 recipients of corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards were named nationwide, including two HISD students, William C. Spencer from Bellaire and Blake A. Niccum from Lamar.  Spencer plans a career in biomedical engineering and Niccum plans a career in medicine.


On May 27 and July 13, another 4,700 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners will be announced nationwide.

InstantNewsWestu Staff

View more articles Subscribe