60 HISD students named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

September 12, 2013

Sixty seniors from six high schools in the Houston Independent School District have qualified as semifinalists in the prestigious National Merit Scholarship Program. HISD had 56 semifinalists last year.

The students are among 16,000 from across the country to earn the semifinalist designation, allowing them the opportunity to continue in the academic competition and vie for more than 8,000 college scholarships worth roughly $35 million.

They hail from Bellaire, Carnegie Vanguard, Lamar and Westside high schools, as well as DeBakey High School for Health Professions and the High School for the Performing and Visual Arts.

“We’re so proud of the academic success these students have achieved,” HISD Superintendent Terry Grier said. “It’s an incredible honor for our students to be recognized by a program that is as rigorous and competitive as the National Merit Scholarship Program.”

Roughly 1.5 million high school juniors from across the country took the 2012 Preliminary SAT, which serves as the National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Less than 1 percent — about 16,000 students — were named semifinalists.

Ninety percent of semifinalists — about 15,000 students — are expected to advance to finalist standing. To do so, they must write an essay, score well on the SAT, have an outstanding high school academic record and obtain a recommendation from a high school official.

More than half of the finalists — about 8,000 students — will go on to win a National Merit Scholarship and the accompanying National Merit Scholar title. Final results will be announced next year between April and July.

National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Bellaire High School

Rihab R. Fahad

Emma C. Foster

Patrick D. Girardet

Deedee T. Han

Michelle Huang

Rachel M. Lee

Hanying Li

KangDi Li

Bowie R. Lin

Ridge Liu

Daniel S. Luo

Aman Narayan

Alan E. Perel

Colin Shi

Rachel M. Smith

Jackson H. Su

Weiyi Wang

David Wu

Cicilyn L. Xie

Anna L. Xu

Phillip Z. Yuan

Laura Y. Zhang

Laurence Zhang

Mayline P. Zhong

Jinchen Zou

Carnegie Vanguard High School

Jeremy E. Davet

Japhethe M. Eernisse

Maya C. Fletcher-Bai

Scott C. Greenberg

Sergio D. Infante

Jinah Kim

Amanda R. Larsen

Jessica Marino

Michael Marino

Adam N. Morrison

DeBakey High School for Health Professions

Shveta M. Abraham

Edgar A. Avina

Anjay Batra

Sawan R. Dalal

Anam Q. Haque

Sharon G. Huang

Nanaki G. Kaur

Tristan L. Lim

Nadine J. Lo

Alina Mohanty

Vi K. Nguyen

Russell M. Tan

Christin Thomas

Yimeng Wang

Christopher K. Wong

Victoria K. Xie

High School for the Performing and Visual Arts

Chandler J. Dean

Adam J. Elkhadem

Rebecca R. Maset

Cassie M. O'Sullivan

Lamar High School

Lyndsey M. Lafitte

Laura E. Motard

Gregory B. Ross

Westside High School

Stephanie M. Forsberg

Daniel P. Johnson

InstantNewsWestu Staff

View more articles Subscribe