43 National Merit Finalists From Bellaire, Lamar High Schools

September 10, 2008

Fifty-six Houston Independent School District seniors have been named as semifinalists in the 2009 National Merit Scholarship Program, with 34 of those Bellaire High School students, and nine finalists are from Lamar High School.

The Bellaire students are Tanvir Ahmed, Luisa Barron, Brian Binoy, Katherine L. Bleakley, Patrick E. Breen, Arnav Chhabra, Shanna X. Chu, Sarah K. Dyer, Andrew M. Garbarino, Maya V. Gascoyne, Anna L. Godwin, Ruobing He, Zachary J. Herrera, Jessica Hester, Sarah E. Hornbostel, Ruiji Jiang, Jing Jin, Kelsey M. Johnson, Allison M. Khoo, Anna M. Li, Xuemiao Liu, Kenneth E. Loonam, Anna E. Meriano, Claire K. Morice, Rebecca H. Nock, Duncan P. O’Connor, Charles E. Orchard, Janice Pan, Kevin L. Shen, William C. Spencer, Michelle Y. Wang, Michael G. Wong, Elizabeth J. Wright, and Young Xu.

Bellaire Principal Tim Salem said, “We are very proud of our students and their achievement levels due to all the work our teachers do, and all of the support their parents provide.”

The Lamar High School finalists include Victoria G. Edrington, Keila E. Fong, Sarah C. Hartzell, Michael H. Miller, Blake A. Niccum, Donald W. Ross, Desmond E. Schipper, Rebecca C. Searle and Kendra M. Williamson.

Carnegie Vanguard High School has five semifinalists – Suzanne G. Arrington, Sanders Butler, Andrew M. DeRosa, Calum S. Ross, and Timothy A. Vaughan. Another five semifinalists are from the High School for Performing and Visual Arts: Amy V. Cousins, Maricor R. Lisk, Rebecca R. Thompson, Eva G. Vinegar, and Julia W. Zimmerman. Challenge Early College High School has one semifinalist, Jacob S. Breier.

“We are very thrilled to work with a group of students that is so focused on academics,” said Carnegie Vanguard Principal Ramon Moss. “Being named as national merit semifinalists is a great reflection of their active commitment to obtaining an exemplary education.”

The 56 HISD students are among about 16,000 semifinalists announced today in the 54th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for approximately 8,200 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $35 million, that will be offered next year.

Three types of National Merit Scholarship awards will be offered in the spring of 2009. Every finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit $2500 Scholarships that will be awarded on a state representational basis. About 1,100 corporate-sponsored scholarships will be provided by approximately 300 corporations and business organizations for finalists who meet their specified criteria. In addition, approximately 200 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 4,600 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.

National Merit Scholarship winners of 2009 will be named in four announcements beginning in April and concluding in July.

InstantNewsWestu Staff

View more articles Subscribe